My New Year’s REZ, Yo.

31 Dec

Ok, So it’s New Years Eve and I hesitated declaring my new year’s res because it has been the same thing every year. For as long as I can remember, Even when it did not need to be and that is… To LOSE WEIGHT. I know, it’s a pretty generic resolution but a resolution non the less. Only this time it’s different. 

Upon getting married, I worked out like a champ, I lessened my calorie in take and even worked my way up to running three miles on the treadmill (it’s easier than running outside). A girl who formally came in 3rd or 4th to last at volleyball and basketball practice was running a 10 minute mile in a group of three. I never thought that was even possible. Which, Hey, that’s not super fast but I’m a big girl.. and big=slow. SO I’ll take what I can get and I got it. It was not without hard work and determination, though. 

Unfortunately, in the weight world, What goes down will come back up if you are not careful.. and that is exactly what happened. Before I got married, I lost 20 lbs and I have gained those plus 20 more lbs for a total of 40 lbs of “married” weight (that’s what I like to call it because it puts me in a class of special people who are apparently allowed to gain weight if they are married – it’s almost expected, kind of like the freshman 15) SO.. with that said, my new venture is this:

To document my journey of hopeful weight loss on here, my flannelmonday’s blog. Originally intended for all things design related and I guess this still applies, since in a way, I am trying to design a new and improved body for myself. After all, the human body was one of God’s greatest Masterpieces… and I am just trying to restore mine back to the way it should be. IT is afterall, a temple, right? 

I will include before and after photos every week, my waist, bust, and hip size (I REFUSE to put my actual weight on here thank you very much) If I lose the weight that I would like to, then I might not mind putting it on here in the future. 🙂

Oh yes, I am starting Monday. Granted, tomorrow marks the first day of the new year but I had already made plans that involved some good eating and I can’t miss that.. so I will forego the normal start date for a better one… MONDAY, January 4th, 2009

I should probably have a goal too. THat’s important.. But I believe in baby steps. I will research an attainable not so ridiculous goal, and let you know what it is.  I will say this. I am not a size 10 and haven’t been since probably 9th grade so that would be a nice goal to have. HOwever, I doubt myself in this.. so I will say a 12 instead and if I am still not happy, I will gladly work towards a size 10.

So with that, I will leave you with some before shots. This is just me getting ready to go out tonight, I just got a new camera and figured why not take some before shots now… They are not the best before shots but I’m not about to get in black spandex or show you the cellulite that I might have…HA!

The pictures are humiliating but I know that If I put myself out here like this then I will be more apt to do what I am set out to do. I need support and I need encouragement. I will take it from whoever will give it to me. I want to be a hot wife.. not a wife that has “let herself go” and I kind of feel like that’s what I’ve done. Matt thinks I am beautiful no matter what but I want to feel beautiful and I don’t. Not only that, I want to be healthy. I want to be able to go on a 5 mile hike on a whim one day knowing that I will be able to.. even when I am 50. So that is why I am here and that is why I am doing this. I can be more than I am being

So until next post…

2 Responses to “My New Year’s REZ, Yo.”

  1. hoganfe handmade handbag originals January 1, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    Terrific resolution! That was how I lost my weight – baby steps! I wwould lose just 10 lbs & when I did, I would reset the goal all over again. Also I did not eat anything – not even a grape 3 hrs before my bedtime.

    Best of luck!
    mary

    • flannelmondays January 3, 2010 at 7:42 am #

      Thanks, Mary! I like to think about Bob from “What about Bob” and his baby steps. Ha ha. Today, I thought about you and your rule about not eating 3 hours before bedtime…not even a grape! Talk about discipline. I would have found some sort of justification for eating 3 hours before bedtime..especially if it were a fruit! Thanks for the encouragement! Cute handbags 😉

Leave a Reply

