Out with the Old…

1 Jan

Ok, So as promised… my measurements:

BUST: 48

WAIST: 38

HIPS: 48

I did not have a real measuring tape so I had to use one of those things that you use to measure a yard with. So it was in feet. So if you want to divide the above measurements by 12 you fill find that my 

BUST: 4ft

WAIST: 3ft

HIPS: 4ft

OUCH. THat hurts. Bad. I think that means that a four-foot person could wrap around my waist…or bust for that matter. That is a difficult reality to swallow but all the more reason to do this! Also, I am pretty sure that Sir Butt Lover (or Mix A lot) said the following:

“Yeah, baby … when it comes to females, Cosmo ain’t got nothin’
to do with my selection. 36-24-36? Ha ha, only if she’s 5’3″.”

Oh Thanks Sir Butt Lover, I did not realize that those measurements were only for the 5’3 women. So I wonder what they would be for a 6 ft. woman. Well, regardless…I rather have the 5 ft. woman’s measurements. But I dont’ know if a 24 inch waist is practical for someone who is 6 ft. That’s like the size of one of one of my thighs.

Anyways.. did I wish you Happy New Year, oops, I forgot.. well HAPPY NEW YEAR! And yay for new beginnings.. that will actually start on Monday for me (as mentioned in my previous post) But..in the mean time, I figured why not clean out my cabinets and get rid of some of the food that could cause me to cheat on my diet that I start on Monday. 

Granted, much of this food I received in my stocking and as gifts and just let me tell you why I have so many bags of popcorn! It is past date but is still good, so my mom gave it to us.. we are not going to keep it but I must confess, I have been sneaking it into the 3 movies that I have seen this holiday season. It’s much better than the movie popcorn and it says, “Smartfood” on the bag… so it must be the smarter choice, right? Well, it does only have 100 calories but it also has 180 mg’s of Sodium… 1.5 gm’s of Saturated fat and 6gm’s of Fat. I don’t know much about fat (I usually count calories) but I’ve heard from the biggest Loser folks that Fat is BAD and they don’t call it fat for no reason, so common sense would tell you it’s bad.. so maybe I should stay away from high in fat foods too.

This will be a learning experience after all. I have much to learn to make this not just a new year’s resolution… but a life style change.

AND with that, I leave a picture of my ultimate inspiration:

CRAP… I don’t know how to insert individual photos on here? IT has worked before?!?! It is making me angry. I was going to insert the photo of Baby Jesus. I’ll figure it out later.

Until next post…

5 Responses to “Out with the Old…”

  1. Tara January 1, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    Since we’re doing this together I just took my measurements, too! *deep breath* here they are:
    Bust-43 inches
    Waist-36 inches
    Hips-45 inches

    We’re right there together!! Unfortunately, I’m only 5’3″, so it looks worse on me 😉
    Starting Monday, Scott and I are going carb free for a month. My endocrinologist (I have PCOS- PolyCystic Ovarian Syndrome) gave me a diet to follow last year, and I did for awhile, and then slowly slipped out of it. But I’m getting back to it on Monday! Yikes! Here we go!

  2. Flannelmondys January 2, 2010 at 7:28 am #

    Tara, you Rock my socks off for doing this too! What a huge support group I have already! We can do it, girl. My husband wants to join in the fun too. Enjoy the carbs while ya can 😉

  3. Laura January 2, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    You can do it Amanda. I’m starting Monday too, I’ve been sort of exercising buy haven’t gotten to the eating right part again yet. I cleaned out my cabinets a few days ago.

  4. Laura January 2, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

    You can do it Amanda! I’m starting on Monday as well, I’ve lost and regained this 10-20 pounds many times but I’m hoping to finally get a lifestyle change that will let me maintain where I want to be. I also cleaned out my cabinets recently. Good luck!

    • flannelmondays January 3, 2010 at 7:40 am #

      Laura, YOU can do it too! I’ve thought about starting to work out at MGM what with their “sidewalk trail” that now goes all the way around the school. I think it amounts to something like 4 miles? Anyways, if you ever want to come along, that would be fun. I remember when we use to have to run in Volleyball, you and Heather always managed to talk the ENTIRE time. I never understood HOW you did that!? lol…

Leave a Reply

