Day one of reckless abandonment

4 Jan

I’m trying to think of what to say…

The sense of accomplishment I already have is a welcomed change to the “beat myself up attitude” I have had in the past AND it’s only been one day. I should probably swallow my pride and talk to ya in a month. Ha. It will get harder, I know. I guess I know I am going to do this so my complete and total outlook has changed. And I just think.. hmm, what will I look like 50 lbs lighter or 5 sizes smaller? It’s been awhile, Mr. Size 10.. what, like 9th grade I think? Yeah.. but I would like to see you soon and I plan to.

I love it when you come across a mirror that makes you look thinner. It’s like, “Whoa! I look taller and skinnier!” Then you start playing tricks on yourself and make yourself think that you REALLY do look like that. “Wow, I’m not as fat as I thought I was.”  But deep down inside, you know that is a lie. You are in fact as big, if not bigger than you even realize.

I say that to say that even computers recognize your fatness and by you I mean ME. Tonight, my exercise was a bit weak. It’s FREEZING outside and while I had intentions of going to walk 3 miles this evening, Matt had other plans. SO I compromised and borrowed Matt’s mom’s wii fit. I thought, “Hey, this will be fun to try.” I have heard very positive things about the Wii Fit.

Domo and I played Wii Fit tonight

No I did not dress accordingly (according to some) but I was in the comfort of my own home..right?

Upon completing the introduction, the Wii assessed my weight, height, BMI and all that Jazz. After it did that, My previously created “Mii” was so FAT! How dare the wii assume that is what I look like! But I guess it’s all mathematical and it is a little cartoon.. but still! It kind of hurt my feelings. I thought, “Surely the Wii knows that I am taller so I am not as wide-looking.” The Wii does not care about your feelings.

Oops, I am writing my day completely out of order. I worked out last and ate first..I ate well today. No, I did not end up going grocery shopping last night because I did not want to go by myself and Matt had had a really long day and I did not ask him to go with me so we did go tonight. BUT because we did not go to the grocery store I had to stop at the gas station to buy breakfast. I bought a FUZE, Water and 2 granola bars.

at 10 calories a fuze is a nice break from water

Breakfast and mid-morning snack =320 Calories or 5 pts

Fiber does a great job of making you feel full longer. I did not take my lunch until 1:30! FiberOne granola bars have 9 grams of fiber! That is a great amount and they are super tastey.

Lunch time rolled around and I had to run a few errands. After running them, that left me little time to eat, so I opted for Subway. After watching Biggest Loser this past season, I saw that you can get the subway people to take the middle part of the bread out so that’s what I asked them to do! (he he he)

I was a little disappointed in myself though. While I did get the turkey w/o cheese or mayonnaise and with every vegetable (minus olives and banana peppers), I got the foot long  and I shouldn’t have so I decided to eat a small dinner tonight to make up for the overage of calories I had at lunch.. (560) + a diet coke. Actually, probably more like 570 because that lady loaded me down with Mustard.

Footlong Sub (I know, bad girl, BAD!) 560 Calories or about 10 pts

It was big and delicious but gave me a lot of gas today!

So I thought lunch was ok. Moving on to dinner 🙂 Matt and I FINALLY bought groceries! We did a good job buying only the necessities (and) we got buy one get one free chicken breasts! I also bought squash, zuchinni, tomatoes, apples, strawberries, lettuce, spinach.. oh the list goes on. So only healthy things on our receipt!

Then we came home and made Weight Watchers Taco Soup. It is so hearty and tonight was the perfect night for something hot and cozy. At just 2 pts per cup, you can’t go wrong with Taco soup and I am certain, I will be making it often. Good thing Matt likes it so much.

The recipe is as follows:

  • 1 lb. ground turkey or lean beef
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 (1 oz.) package Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing Mix
  • 1 (1 oz) package Taco Seasoning Mix
  • 1 (16 oz.) can pinto beans
  • 1 (16 oz) can chili beans (either hot or regular)
  • 1 (16 oz) can whole kernel corn
  • 1 (8 oz) can Mexican-style tomatoes
  • 1 (8 oz) can diced tomatoes (any flavor)

Directions

  1. Brown meat & onions and drain.
  2. Mix Ranch & Taco seasonings into meat.
  3. Add rest of ingredients, undrained to mixture.
  4. Simmer 1 hour.
  5. 2 Weight Watchers points per cup.
I found this yummy recipe at http://www.grouprecipes.com and look how pretty it is in my lovely peacock fiestaware:

Taco Soup - not sure of calories but 2 pts per cup! YUM!

So overall, a good day. I know I did not do a good job of working out. I did work out for about 20 minutes though and got my heart rate up hoola hooping! 🙂
The plan for tomorrow is to eat some yummy whole grain cereal with strawberries that has 9 grams of fiber with skim milk. Tomorrow is 12:30 Tuesday with my gal pals and we always grab lunch somewhere. Tomorrow in light of the new resolutions, we are going to go eat at Tropical Smoothie Cafe.

12:30 Tuesday with the Gals! It should be yummy and healthy

For dinner, I am planning on cooking whole-wheat pasta and sauteed veggies. Any suggestions on how to season them? What about the noodles? I’m not really sure of sauces to use??
Well, this is me signing off. I am excited and I hope all of you who started your resolution today did well. We need to start weighing in and reporting progress. Woop Woop!
Oh yeah. The Calorie Count for today.. is…880 (for breakfast, mid-morning snack and lunch) + dinner which was about 150 calories maybe 200? So that is a total of 1080. That is considerably less then what I usually intake. Sometimes I have that many calories before LUNCH! YIKES!
So until tomorrow, friends!
2 Responses to “Day one of reckless abandonment”

  1. Laura January 5, 2010 at 6:19 am #

    You’re doing great Amanda. I love fiber one bars, they taste like candy bars. If you like chocolate target and some brunos have vitamuffins http://www.vitalicious.com/ , the chocolate tops are my favorite and they’re a good way of getting fiber too. A little pricey but good. I like the classico sauces, tomato basil and fire roasted garlic are only 50-60 calories per serving. Sparkrecipes.com has some good recipes and a recipe calculator that you can plug your ingredients into and get the calories and everything else. Not the WW points but you can get what you need to plug in to get the points. Hungry girl is also another site I like that gives you recipes and products that are good. That’s where I learned about the vitamuffins and laughing cow cheese. Good luck on day two!

    • flannelmondays January 6, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

      Thanks girl! That is all useful info. I saw an ad for the vitalicious stuff in a weight watchers magazine. It all looked SO good. I am going to get some of that skinny cow stuff too the ice cream. Oh Laura, I just realized that you told me about Sparkrecipes! I did not realize that it did the same thing that RecipeZaar does! I will have to check it out too. Thanks girl! You are awesome.

Leave a Reply

