Let’s be Losers

5 Jan

Yes, I watched it.. well, the second hour. Yes, I cried…ESPECIALLY when the mother/daughter duo purple team got up there and that precious girl told her mother she could do anything! Ugh. That made me feel like crap. Well, I love it.

SO.

Day 2 (a little woot woot)

First of all.. I totaled it up and breakfast was

210 Calories for ALL bran with Berries + Skim

A mid-morning snack was a

120 Calorie Kashi Dark Chocolate + Coconut Granola Bar DELISH

Then it’s off to lunch with my gal pal’s for 12:30 Tuesday. We are all trying to eat healthier so that’s encouraging and helpful. We try the Tropical Smoothie Cafe. Besides a salad, the sandwich with the lowest amount of calories (to my surprise) was the

Wasabi Roastbeef at 374 calories + a banana at what like 60?

So the first half of the day in calories was: 764 Calories.

Then afterwork I had my 4th interview! YIKES. They told me it had been narrowed down to 3 people and I was one of them. (No Pressure) I am a little nervous about it and I do want this job but I kind of felt like one of the guys interviewing me doubted my creative abilities even though I had my pfolio with tons of creative output right in front of him. My dad was encouraging and told me that the question that he asked that made me think that was probably just one of the many questions on the list and I took it a little too personally. (Go figure) I even got a little silly when he said, “Can you take an idea from scratch and make something from it?” and I was like, ” Well, Yeah.. I mean, look at this.” (I pointed to one particular publication that I had created) I am such a brat. I hope I am making it sound worse than it actually was. I am certain that I am, actually. I did it in a joking way. I doubt he took offense to it. Anyways, they will make a final decision this week. YAY. Say a prayer please πŸ™‚

SO after that crazy time (By the way, I got dressed for my interview in a shell station bathroom) I went to get Matt and we headed on over to Mac Grille. I was a little nervous because I had looked at many of their dishes and one of them was under 500 calories…ONE. The rest were over 1000! (Unless you got a house salad w/o dressing). SO I thought I would end up eating the ONE dish that was under 500 but our nice very nice waiter informed me of something else that was less than 500 calories. NOW I can’t remember the name but it was delicious and fresh! I want to try and recreate it:

Chicken Skewers with Roasted Veggies and Lemon Zest (Water to drink)

Of course I had water with EXTRA Lemon:

He brought me out a bowl. Great waiter!

And yes, we skipped the bread basket and I colored:

Just a little product placement

So in adding the early part of my day (764) to the Dinner (500), my total calorie intake for the day is 1264.

NOW, that discouraged me greatly because I wanted to stay around 1000 but Matt said that 1264 calories is fine AND if I were to exercise It would probably be that minus about 600 which would be 664 calories that I would have taken in. I did not exercise today though (I KNOW, I KNOW) so It is stil the rather high 1264. Anyways, I wanted to know the actual amount of calories that I really should take in to lose weight and to do that.. their is a formula! πŸ™‚

The BMR Calculator will calculate your Basal Metabolic Rate (BMR); the number of calories you’d burn if you stayed in bed all day. Mine is 1936.95 (Wow, that seems like a lot) Once you know your BMR you can find out what your daily calorie intake should be for your body to function with the Harris Benedict Equation:

To determine your total daily calorie needs, multiply your BMR by the appropriate activity factor, as follows:

  1. If you are sedentary (little or no exercise) : Calorie-Calculation = BMR x 1.2
  2. If you are lightly active (light exercise/sports 1-3 days/week) : Calorie-Calculation = BMR x 1.375
  3. If you are moderatetely active (moderate exercise/sports 3-5 days/week) : Calorie-Calculation = BMR x 1.55
  4. If you are very active (hard exercise/sports 6-7 days a week) : Calorie-Calculation = BMR x 1.725
  5. If you are extra active (very hard exercise/sports & physical job or 2x training) : Calorie-Calculation = BMR x 1.9

Now I said that I was lightly active since I am going to start working out. And I mean, I do move around and stuff. It seems like we are ALWAYS going somewhere.. so I guess that counts for something?? So 1936.95×1.375=2663.30. So what does that mean? Well, it means that in order to maintain my current weight, I can eat 2663 calories and will maintain it. SO, I guess if I wanted to LOSE weight then I would decrease from that amount?

Well, according to http://www.bmi-calculator.net you need to create a deficite of calories and they explain how and why:

There are approximately 3500 calories in a pound of stored body fat. So, if you create a 3500-calorie deficit through diet, exercise or a combination of both, you will lose one pound of body weight. (On average 75% of this is fat, 25% lean tissue) If you create a 7000 calorie deficit you will lose two pounds and so on. The calorie deficit can be achieved either by calorie-restriction alone, or by a combination of fewer calories in (diet) and more calories out (exercise). This combination of diet and exercise is best for lasting weight loss. Indeed, sustained weight loss is difficult or impossible without increased regular exercise.

Ok ENOUGH of the boring stuff. I was just interested in knowing about the amount of calories I needed to eat to lose weight and I guess that is one way of finding out. It’s kind of cool.

Oh MY GOSH. Can I just say that my HEAD is KILLING me and it must be from lack of caffiene. Seriously, it almost feels a little like I”m drunk or dizzy? Weird. I have had some diet coke today but I guess not nearly as much as I normally drink. AND I have had 128 ounces of water, I know exactly how much because I use my trusty 32 ounce Nalgene Bottle:

I have been peeing nonstop!

I am such a nerd, I know. I just like VISUALS, OK!

So that was my day in a nutshell. I am just wrapping things up. I need to pee (again) and I wanted to inform all of you who read my blog that there are stats and I can see how many people have read it in one day and guess what.. today alone, I have had 97 people view it! Isn’t that amazing. It makes me feel good and it encourages me SO much! I want to be sucessful and I feel like with the help of the folks who read this here blog, I can do it.

So now I’m going to pee! πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “Let’s be Losers”

  1. Matt McCall January 7, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

    Hmm… my BMR is very close to yours: 1954.95. But I’m getting little to no exercise right now so my multiplier is 1.2… meaning 2,346 calories a day to maintain my current weight. I calculated that to lose the amount of weight I want to lose in the time period I want to lose it in, I need to take in 1,050 fewer calories than I expend. Which means I need to stay around 1,300 calories a day. Yikes! That doesn’t sound like much.

    • flannelmondays January 8, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

      if you eat the right things, you would be surprised how full you could be from 1300 calories! just eat a lot of protein and drink a lot of water πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

