Introducing Recipe Zaar

6 Jan

 

Ok, Truth be told… I am STARVING and because I brought my lunch today I am going to eat it at my desk and use my actual lunch time to go to Barnes and Noble and read up on some recipes/weight loss tips. I brought leftover taco soup. YUM. I ate an apple for a snack so I think that is why I am so hungry now. I am usually fine until Oliver gets back but there is a rumbly in my tummy! It is kind of cool that I am learning what keeps me full and what doesn’t. Even though, I have read where apples are supposed to fill you up. I guess mine was a little small?

So I found an amazing website called Recipe Zaar (www.recipezaar.com) that actually calculates the nutritional information in your recipes! I have died and gone to fat camp! RecipeZaar and I are going to become great friends! One of the aspects of the site that is so handy is that you can “sift” through the recipes using the “sifter” For example you can do a search:

The Search

And if the results come back and there are too many, you can sift through them by Category, Ingredient, or Nutrition:

Sift by these categories

I chose Nutrition. Then you type in the amount of the different nutritional things that you care about (I just did calories) and it will sift away!

To be more specific, you can include all of your desired nutrients!

Sometimes it still brings back a large number of recipes but I suppose that is just more for you to enjoy.

Wow, that's a lot!

Once you click on the recipe, you have the option of adding it to your shopping list or cook book.

To the left side of the Recipe you will see the nutritional values

This website is very user friendly and so helpful if you are counting points or calories! YAY! I am so glad I found it today.
Now, I am finished with my lunch and feel better. My lips are burning a little because crazy Matt added tabasco sauce! But I can handle it.
Until Next time..
8 Responses to “Introducing Recipe Zaar”

  1. Katherine Heath January 6, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    A really good mid morning snack I have found is to buy those Land-O-Lakes indivdually packaged cheeses (1 oz of cheese) and eating one of those and 14 almonds. Its flling because it has alot of protein. It only has 160 caories and 8 g of protein.

    • flannelmondays January 6, 2010 at 11:19 pm #

      Oh, I LOVE almonds.. that sounds really good! I will have to look for those cheese things in the store. Are you still working out in the A.M.? You inspire me! If only I could wake up that early!!!

  2. Kristine at Recipezaar January 6, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    Glad you found us and hope you find lots of yummy and useful recipes!

    • flannelmondays January 6, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

      Thanks, Kristine! I am glad I found you guys too and I am sure I will be a constant visitor. Thank you for your comment!

  3. Tara January 6, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    Eat 1 Tbsp of peanut butter with your apple! The protein with the sugars and water in the apple will help keep you full for longer. I also like to have 2 pickle spears with a string cheese for a non-sweet snack.

    • flannelmondays January 6, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

      I LOVE peanut butter on apples and I almost did that today.. I should have but I did not feel like taking the entire container of peanut butter to work with me ha ha (I did not have time to put some in a little tupperwear dish)

      How’s it going your way?! Are you doing good?!

  4. swashbucket January 6, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    I read today that if you eat more protein in the morning i.e. eggs for breakfast instead of cereal your less likely to gorge yourself at lunch. just a though.

    • flannelmondays January 6, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

      Thanks Swashbucket. I’ve heard that too. I am going to start doing that. I thought fiber was the way to go but turns out it just makes me use the bathroom a lot more 🙂

Leave a Reply

