Check BEFORE You Chow

7 Jan

Ok, before I head off to lunch, I am trying to find a place that has something I can eat for less than 300 calories. Well, I did a Zoes Nutritional Information search and came across this website:

http://www.thedailyplate.com which is actually now part of http://www.livestrong.com 

Anyways, It is another cool website that tells you the number of calories that the item you want to eat has. In this case, it is for restaurant food which is pretty helpful. In Fact, I found out that the yummy Wasabi Roast beef sandwich that I had the other day did NOT include cheese and the wasabi dressing that was on my sandwich into the calorie count which is very aggravating! 

All you have to do is the search for the food you want on their website and the results will come up:

I searched the Tropical Smoothie Cafe'

Then you can of course click on the particular item you would like to know more about:

Notice the disclaimer about it not including the cheese or dressing!

and

It has the handy dandy Nutrition Facts for every meal!

That particular nutrition fact thingy was for a smoothie, not the Wasabi Roastbeef.

The site is very helpful and there is hardly any excuse for eating out unhealthy when you have all of this information at your fingertips! Just do a quick search on your computer or smart phone and you are set. You don’t have to settle for crappy food if you just do the research. It takes what, like 5 seconds? I say this for myself, Amanda.. you have no more excuses!

Livestrong.com also has many other points of interests to their site. It’s like an online magazine for free! 🙂

All of the different Subjects to choose from

 

So Lunch is planned.. I think I am going to go to Zoes! YUM I plan on getting the Grilled Chicken Salad with very light dressing.

You can write reviews too!

The Nutrition Facts for the Salad

Oh yeah! For Breakfast I ate a Cliff Bar (for Nina) and oh my goodness did it fill me up! It had 260 Calories and 11 grams of protein!!! I will post pics later.

The next test is tonight when we all get together for the big game! I will JUST SAY NO to BAD food!!! I am making taco soup so I think I’ll be ok!

2 Responses to “Check BEFORE You Chow”

  1. Nina January 7, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    I made taco soup tonight too! yummy

  2. Nina January 7, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    Oh and happy the see you tried the Clif bar and liked it!!

Leave a Reply

