Shame on us!

9 Jan

We have set horrible examples to our son, Andrew. He has fallen in love with food and it is our fault. He looks to us to know what is good to eat and bad to eat. He has been misinformed that the “good” food to eat is the food that tastes good because well, that is the food that we usually eat. Stopping off at Foosackleys, Lenny’s and the like when ever we don’t have anything to eat at home or don’t “feel” like cooking. We are doing Andrew a disservice by doing this. While Andrew is far from picky, he is like most children preferring Pizza, Hamburgers, Fried Chicken fingers. The “Convenient Foods”.

Andrew, lookin' a little cross eyed there...

Today, after basketball we went to lunch at Cracker Barrel (I love their veggies!). Andrew wanted to get 1.) pancakes (we said no) then 2.) fried chicken fingers… (we said no again). Andrew is only seven. He is a good boy and is very obedient. Hyper at times..but he has the best of intentions. Andrew is just like his dad…he LOVES food. He thinks his dad is the coolest dad ever for eating the pounder at Cheeburger Cheeburger. I disagree because I don’t really think that is setting that great of an example. I know it was ALL in fun.. but we have to be more careful about that. (Ha)

There is nothing wrong obviously with have a treat every now and then but because Matt and I do it too,  Andrew has lived in a life with constant “treats” always eating the fast food, ice cream, cookies. He gets more excited about food then I have ever seen a kid get! It’s our fault. We have put such an emphasis on food and the comfort that it brings. We have to reteach him the importance of eating healthy. Waiting any longer to do so could very well affect him later in life.. I do not want him to make the same choices when it comes to food that we have. We ordered him grilled chicken fingers and green beans. He LOVED them. If he loves the healthy food, he might as well order it. I just feel bad for  influencing him waywardly in the food area. We should know better and now we see the error of our ways and are going to do our best to improve them.

Moving on..

For Breakfast, while Matt and Andrew had CONECUH Sausage (my FAVORITE), I ate a Blueberry Luna Bar. If I buy a Luna Bar again, I will most likely get a different flavor, FOR SURE.

Luna Sunrise Bar = 160 Calories

Less Calories (Which is why I allowed myself latte!)

I also allowed myself a little Latte Treat this morning. Since the Luna Bar was only 160 Calories, that + my 100 Calorie Latte (with 2 packs of Truvia) was equal to a Clif Bar’s Calories.

I tried Truvia today in my tall non fat latte... I could have used more than 2 packs. I think I stick with my Splendid Splenda!

As previously mentioned, we went to Cracker Barrel for lunch. They have such delicious vegetables! I did a little research and found the results were inconsistent with what I actually ate, but to be on the safe side, I am just going to assume that the 6 small grilled chicken strips along with a side of green beans and baby Lima beans and turnip greens (which I did not eat all of, they were not that tasty today) = to 500-600 Calories.

Don't worry, I did not eat biscuits OR cornbread! 🙂

Mmmmm Chicken...

Going Green

I lose every time!

I lose every time!

We finally went home after all the morning fun and did some house work. Tonight I ran up to Wally World (my least favorite place in the world) because we RAN OUT OF TOILET PAPER… and if you know Matt, you know nothing could be worse!  Which by the way, My husband is great. He cooked dinner (which I did not eat), took all the Christmas lights down, and did 2 loads of laundry while I did my work out with Jillian Michales and went to Wal-Mart. He knows just how to crank my tractor! I bought a scale at Wal-Mart and it turned out that is is defective or something! It would not even turn on? (Yes, it has batteries HA HA) I guess I will take it back tomorrow. I gotta tell ya though, I am excited to see how much I have lost! Matt weighed on the Wii Fit and guess how much he lost? Ya ready?……….4.9 Lbs! So let’s just say 5 lbs for good measure. Great Job, Baby!

I told you I was going to do the Shred tonight with Jilian. My friend Katherine talked about what a great workout it was on her blog, http://www.timandkatherineheath.blogspot.com. She too is tracking her progress! Yay Katherine!

So anyways,  I started watching Biggest Loser last season and let me tell you.. I love Jilian, she is so hard core. I also have always said, “Man,I wish I could go on biggest Loser.” Well.. I kind of still think I would not mind going but after I did her workout…OH. MY. GOODNESS. She kicked my rear! It was only 20 minutes, but it really is intense. Even the back up girls working out were sweating hard and they had 6 packs!  Now I have more respect for the loser contestants when they complain about the stuff she makes them do. She is INTENSE. Anyways, I am glad I bought the video but I’m not going to lie.. it makes me want to say dirty words. After I did her workout, I was not even hungry so I end the day with no supper and I’m ok with that! 🙂

OUCH! Thanks Katherine, for recommending this.. I.. um.. guess? Ha ha

So I guess the total amount of calories I had today was 160 + 100 + 600 (wow, I can’t believe that is all I have eaten!) My total calorie intake is 860 Calories. I think this is the ONLY time it will be that low. Unless of course, Jillian’s workout makes me not want to eat. Ha, Maybe that’s why the video says you could drop 20 lbs in 30 days!

Well, I’m going to watch a movie now.. The Changeling.. I wonder if it will be a yay or a nay? Eh, I will probably fall asleep anyway.

One Response to “Shame on us!”

  1. Nina January 9, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    Ohh I love Luna bars but only certain kinds are good. I recommend the nutz over chocolate and peanut butter cookie.

Leave a Reply

