Day 8 and feeling Great!

11 Jan

Ok, I know, I know, that was cheesy but I’ve always wanted a rhyming title! Speaking of cheesy, the dinner I just made included 1 cup of low-fat feta cheese, that’s right folks, FETA! Who knew that eating healthy could taste so good? I found this recipe in a Weight Watchers magazine. The Title of the article was Cheese Lovers or something like that. So it automatically lured me in.

Well, I made it tonight and even Matt liked it which, if he liked it.. that’s saying something because he is kind of picky when it comes to my cooking. As I mentioned before, I usually burn stuff but not tonight! (Actually, I almost burned the sautéed veggies..shh, don’t tell)

For 1 1.5 cup serving of this “Casserole” it only has 5 points and 290 calories.. but because I had to substitute a few ingredients, I am just going to say that it had 400 Calories. I will let you have the recipe but you have to promise to make it. I told Matt, the thing I loved about it the most (besides the low-calories and cheese) was how different it was. It did not even have meat in it which I thought was kind of cool. Did I mention it was very filling? It was. OK, here are the pictures and the recipe:

Lots of fresh veggies!

Popeye's favorite!

This looks DISGUSTING! But it was quite the opposite.

Delish!

All gone!

Skinny Cow Truffle Ice Cream Bar = 100 Calories of delicious fun!

 

The ingredients are as follows:

8-Sun dried tomatoes halves (not the kind soaked in oil, I accidently bought that kind, so I washed the oil off as best as I could)

1 large Onion, chopped

1 large red bell pepper, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 large zucchini, diced

1/4  tsp each salt and red pepper flakes (here, I substituted black pepper because I did not have red pepper. it was pretty spicy)

1 (9 oz) bag baby spinach

1 (19-oz) can cannellini (white kidney beans) rinse and dry (here, I could not find those in the grocery store, so I used light red kidney beans)

1 cup crumbled low-fat feta cheese

2 slices toasted bread, cubed

DIRECTIONS:

1. Preheat oven to 375 Degrees (Oops, I just realized I did it to 350 :)). 

2. Put tomatoes and enough hot water to cover in bowl. Let stand until tomatoes are softened, 10 minutes. Drain and chop.

3. Spray non-skillet with non-stick spray and set over medium heat. Add onion, bell pepper, garlic, zucchini, salt, and red pepper flakes; cook, stirring, until vegetables are crisp-tender, about 8 minutes. Add spinach in batches and cook, stirring until each batch is wilted, about 3 minutes in all.

4. Add beans, 1/2 cup of feta, and tomatoes. Spoon sautéed veggies into baking dish. Top with bread and remaining feta. Spray with non-stick spray. Bake until hot, 25 minutes. 

FEAST 🙂 This really was good. A little spicy but the feta complimented the spiciness. 

CRAP! There I go again, starting with the end of the day rather than the beginning of the day… well, here is a brief synopsis:

Breakfast:

240 Calories for this yummy chocolate brownie bar!

LUNCH:

+ the side salad with very little ranch on the side 🙂

I did not have an afternoon snack.  , I spent most of my time in Wal-mart searching for stupid sun-dried tomatoes. They sure do have a lot of products.. shoot, they even have AGAVE NECTAR but no stankin sun-dried tomatoes! This, my friends, is why I prefer Target. Anyways, Winn-Dixi had them but if Wal-mart would have had them, then I would not have had to drive all the way to Winn-Dixi! UGH. For the record, Target always has sun-dried tomatoes. They have the dried ones and the ones soaked in oil so if I were you, that is where I would go to buy them. Thank you and have a nice day.

So 500 Calories from Dinner and Dessert +360 calories from breakfast and my mid-morning kashi snack… and I had chick filet for lunch that was..250 Calories so that is = to….1110 Calories 🙂 YAY!

Now, I’m off to SHRED the pounds away. Aww, Andrew worked out with me last night. The boy can do some push-ups! I was impressed. But he cheated in the other areas, except for the jumping jacks and the “butt kicks”. He said, “Don’t quit, Miss. Amanda, Don’t quit!” Sweet little booger, he is.

Have a good night. Thanks for all of your ever-present encouragement 🙂

xoxo

8 Responses to “Day 8 and feeling Great!”

  1. Rachel January 11, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    That recipe looks great! My husband wouldn’t touch anything meatless though 😦

    FYI- Cannellini beans are the same as navy or great northern beans in terms of taste and nutrition. Walmart (at least our walmart) sells dry sun dried tomatoes with the produce. You have to look down around the bottom of the displays that have regular tomatoes. Good luck with your healthy eating!

    myfitnesspal.com is a great resource too. It helped me lose about 40 pounds.

    • flannelmondays January 12, 2010 at 9:11 am #

      I know, Matt said he was going to put bacon in it but after he tasted it, he didn’t need to! And, I think the beans kind of act like a meat.. to me they did, anyway.

      Thanks for the tips. As far as finding the sun-dried tomatoes, I even went as far as to ask several employees and they said that they use to sell them but they did not carry them anymore. That could just be the Saraland Wal-Mart though?

      I’ll definitely check that website out! Thanks girl! Good to hear from you.. it’s been a long time since we had Art History together 🙂

  2. Ashley January 11, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    Yum! I am going to try this even though it kinda looks crazy!

  3. Rachel January 13, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    Yes, it has been a long time! I didn’t know if you remembered me or if you would just think I was crazy!

    I really enjoy reading your blog! I love reading about food and I also like reading about weight loss…so it’s kinda perfect!

    I lost about 40 lbs last year (which I still don’t know how I gained) and have kept it off for a while now.

    seriously though: http://www.myfitnesspal.com is an amazing resource. Their database has more foods, brands and restaurant foods than any other one I’ve seen. It has everything I have ever looked for in Publix or Walmart (great value) brands. It also has a feature to save a meal you put in. So, rather than entering every ingredient of the same sandwich I eat every single day, it stores the entire sandwich.

    I’ll get off my soapbox now!

    Good Luck and take care.

    • flannelmondays January 13, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

      I keep meaning to check that site out! I will, don’t worry.

      That is so great that you lost all of that weight! Congratulations!

  4. Mary January 15, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    You said you used sun dried tomatoes, but it looks like you have regular tomatoes too in the top picture. Also, since we’re such big fans of the turkey lately, maybe (if Matt really wanted it) you could add some ground turkey. Ha, or if you made it sometime when he’d never be around, you could try some tofu 🙂 It sounds really good though, I think I’ll try it sometime.

  5. flannelmondays January 15, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Thanks, Mary but those were not tomatoes. Those were Red Bell Peppers. That’s funny because even though Matt was eating it, he thought the same thing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

