I like this whole cooking thing

19 Jan

 

Our first home!

 

Oh, this is just the view of the mountains at my log cabin.. ha ha

 

Before Matt and I moved from our apartment, we had a very small kitchen with no dishwasher or wash machine…or central heat/air. But I LOVED it. I would not have traded the moments we shared in our little mid-town apartment for moments in mansion any day! Now we have a house and we have all of the normal luxuries that come along with owning a house. We even have a DISHWASHER and an ICEMAKER! IT’s fabulous! I am so thankful for those little things. I think not having them before really helps me to appreciate them now. I have named them all and tell them bedtime stories at night before I turn all of the lights out. Ok, that was a joke but don’t put it past me.

Because of the formentioned luxuries AND being on a diet, I have found that I cook more. I enjoy it so much! Matt and I always cook together (remember, I mentioned when he’s not here..stuff does not taste good or gets burnt). I love that he helps me. We are a team, ya see and there’s no “I” in team! Anyways, I love trying new foods with low calories so if anyone has any recipes they’d like to share please feel free. I get a little intimidated when there are more than 10 ingredients in something.. that’s a little advanced for me, so make sure they aren’t too complicated.

One time, for Valentine’s Day, I decided to make a chocolate ganoche cake by Ina from the Barefoot Contessa. The cake looked so beautiful and it would have been but it had more than 10 ingredients in it and it fell apart. 😦 Matt said he liked it but I think he was just being nice. So as much as I like all of those food network Diva’s and the food they cook, they are just a little too high-fashioned for me 😉

Moving on.. 

The dinner we made tonight was really delicious. You really have to season the meat because otherwise, it will be very bland. Matt seasoned it with garlic and chopped onions, salt and pepper and it tasted just find and dandy! The onions were defnitely my favorite part! All of the veggies were delectable and so colorful. Martha would be so proud.

I played with the food while Matt seasoned the meat 🙂

 

Before the show...

 

The finished product. Yes, it tasted as good as it looks! Will be making again!

 

Cooking is so much fun! It’s all about getting back to the basics when It comes to cooking for me. Simple recipes with simple ingredients seem to taste the best. Hopefully I will be able to expand my reportia thouogh and my cooking skills. If you haven’t seen it and want to be inspired, see Julie and Julia! It is my new favorite movie! I LOVE Meryl Streep, she is such a great actress!

I did not have any dessert today because I was so full. OH, I did the SHRED work out while the food was cooking. Matt started doing it with me but couldn’t finish! That made me feel good. HA. I am woman, hear me roar! 

Let’s see, my calorie intake for today was roughly 1030. I did a google search to see how much a serving of ground turkey meat had in it and it said 295 Calories + the veggies so I’m guessing that’s about 400? I don’t know but at least I know I’m not OVER the amount of calories that I’d like to take in. 

Well have a good night! 🙂

4 Responses to “I like this whole cooking thing”

  1. Rachel January 19, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    How long did you wind up cooking these? I am definitely going to try them.

  2. Katherine Heath January 20, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    I have found that using Lowry’s Seasoned Salt and/or Tony Casheres (Sp?) gives really good flavor to meats so you could try that too. Also if you marinate chicken in Italian Dressing and then just bake it, it is divine! It is even better if you grill it. You are doing so great!

    • flannelmondays January 20, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

      YUM. Matt puts Tony’s on EVERYTHING. He put it on his hobo dinner lastnight. I will have to get some of that Lowry’s. My mom uses it on stuff. I have some of the Lowry’s grill mates but we don’t have a grill and never use it.

Leave a Reply

