Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

19 Jan

 

I was always attracted to Willy. His purple velvet jacket and green top hat drove me crazy.

 

Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory was always one of my favorite movies as a kid. I was so jealous of Charlie. He was such a little brat. He almost ruined it for himself when he drank that fizzy lifting drink. Punk kid. I always wanted to go to the part of the factory where the chocolate river was. I loved those mushrooms that had the icing in the dots… and the flower that willie wonka took a bite of. Let’s not forget the huge gummy bears. (you all know how I feel about gummy bears). I just love candy. 

If you want to view paradise...simply look around and view it.

 

Matt’s a chip man.. he does not like candy that much and certainly never craves it like I do. It’s so cool because for some reason, I have not craved candy at all since I began my adventure. I have craved hamburgers and pizza and will eventually eat one. I am making a dish tonight that usually calls for ground beef but instead of using ground beef to make hobo dinners, we are using ground turkey meat. 

This is the original version. Ours will be the healthy version?

 

A hobo dinner is something I learned to make in Girl-scouts. Yes, I was a girl-scout for nine years.. and what do I remember? Not how to tie a knot, or how to mark a trail.. oh no.. I remember the food. S’mores and Hobo dinners cooked over a roaring fire. MMM MMM Good. The thought of this makes me want to go back to Scout Shire Woods all over again (and there is no air conditioning).

So this is the recipe and I hope it turns out just as good as when I use potatoes and ground beef.

I will season the meat with garlic and onion, salt and pepper, make little patties out of it and then add veggies. The veggies I will be using are zucchini, carrots, squash, and onions. Normally we use carrots and potatoes but I don’t think potatoes are very good for you. Carrots aren’t the best either but I love carrots and they are better than potatoes…I think?  I’m excited to see how this turns out!

You really need to cut the veggies thin because the carrots take a long time to cook all the way through. Make sure the patty is not too think either or it will be pink in the middle and that is ok with beef but not poultry! So I think I will preheat the oven at about 400 and leave them in their anywhere from 30-45 minutes. Then, FEAST. You can eat it right out of the tin foil like the gal scouts or put it on a plate. This dish is very easy and delicious! 🙂

Today so far I have had my usual Cliff bar (240 calories), Peeled Mangos (120 calories), The Southwest Chicken Salad from Chick-fil-a (I know I said I was going to work out during my lunch break but I forgot about 12:30 Tuesday!) This salad only had 240 calories and I wanted low-fat ranch but they did not have it so I got about a little more than a teaspoon of ranch and dipped it.. so I think that was about 20-30 calories. That is it so far. I’m guessing my dinner tonight will have about 300 calories. 

240 Calories

 

Anyways! I feel great. I’m not hungry at all. Oh. confession: I drank a diet coke today. I’M SORRY! I couldn’t help it!! I needed one 😦 Don’t judge me.

Heidi drinks it so it must be ok!?

 

Well, that’s it for now..

6 Responses to “Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory”

  1. Tara January 19, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    I remember making hobo dinners and s’mores with you at Camp Scoutshire woods! I have some great memories!
    Row, row, row, your boat, gently down the stream, Throw your counselor overboard and listen to her scream!

    You’re right about the potatoes though– if you NEED a potato, go with sweet potato. They have beta carotene and not nearly as many carbs! I think they taste better, too. I hope your dinner is great!

  2. Janie January 19, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    You absolutely CRACK me up with all of this..it is precious.and honest.and refreshing! I love all the pictures. It’s amazing how you can produce all of this, but you are in graphic design right?
    Anyway……..I have to become the grim reaper when it involves DIET COKE.I will try to find the email that I got recently telling just why. It is called “Sweet Poison.”
    Please do not drink it. Nephrologists (sp?) do say, and so do Neurologists to drink water, water, water…to ward off headaches and dehydration. We need water because our bodies are made up of water.
    Sorry to have to be the bearer of this news, but I love you, and believe it or not Matt & Kevin too.

    • flannelmondays January 19, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

      I am a graphic designer but have a passion for photography too 🙂 I paint.. anything to do with art.

  3. Nina January 19, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    Yea-Avoid all diet drinks. Like Janie said-They have aspartame which is bad news. I’ve always hated the taste of all diet drinks-I will never understand the obsession with them.

    • flannelmondays January 19, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

      my obsession started when I was in college. Before that, I drank mostly water and tea. Then I went on a diet and needed some sweetness in my life. Meet Diet Sunkist. Then, it was a downward spiral from there! 😦 I am going to try and quit drinking them. I LOVE water so I think I can do this.

Leave a Reply

