Hot and Fresh off the Kitchen

25 Jan

2 pounds lost..

Ok. I had a busy weekend hence the no posting yesterday and Saturday. I tried to post on Saturday but my the tethering of Matt’s iphone for the internet was not working so I couldn’t post anything. BUT I will say that diet-wise I did fine and have lost a total of 2.6 lbs… if you really want to get precise. 🙂 I found my self very hungry this weekend though.

Friday night, we made whole-grain rice with Veggies. It was tasty but while I was waiting for Matt to make the chicken, I found myself nibbling on the rice and veggies while I waited. I believe a mid-day snack may have prevented this. But alas, there was a greater ration of vegetables to rice, so I might be ok. Matt and I made the yummy wraps that we have become so fond of Friday night with the rice and veggies. SO I think that’s around 500-600 Calories. I don’t remember eating dessert.

Saturday, I woke up and had a smoothie. These are about 300 calories. It was delicious. I tried the kind with milk first and that was a waist! It did not taste good at all. So I made another smoothie with strawberries and blueberries + orange juice and oatmeal. DELISH.

For lunch.. oh, For lunch I had Digorno pizza, you know, the ones that are already portioned out. It was a total of (400 calories). Pizza is most definitely one of my favorite foods. Usually that is something you out grow but if it is coming from the right place like Pickle Fish, Bucks, or Guido’s.. then sign me up! I love a good indie pizza kitchen. I need to stop talking about it.

Saturday was a sad day for me. I found out that I did not get the job. It’s ok, though. The guy who did get it is someone that I like and I’m happy for him! I know that God is in control and he has that special plan for me. So while that job offered a lot of great benefits, the benefits that come from being in God’s Will a far greater. Of course, this was a decision I did not have any control over so I am assuming that it was God’s will that I did not get the job? I guess if he wanted me to have it, I would have gotten it and he must have something better for me down the road. I pray he does. I feel like my talents are just wasting away where I am now. I feel like what’s-his-name from Office Space. I just want to beat that stupid plate maker with a baseball bat! That would feel so good.

For lunch Saturday, I stuck with what I knew. I did not have that many vegetables but I did have chicken so I marinated it for about 5-6 hours in this really good marinade that is reminiscent of Italian dressing but does not have exactly the same flavor. Then I made hobo dinners with onions, carrots, and zucchini and chicken. I know.. I keep using the same ingredients but like I said.. I’m sticking with what I know… but it wouldn’t hurt to have a few good recipes, though… so give em’ to me if you have em’. It was really tasty.. The chicken was SO tender and I think I much rather use chicken than ground turkey meat next time. For “dessert” I had 14 wheat thins (150 cal) with a weight watchers string cheese (50 cal) Tasty but a little high in cals.

Sunday we were running late, as usual so I did not have time to make smoothies. Me, Matt and Andrew all had granola bars. I had the Fiber Plus bar. Thankfully, Mrs. Gwen had some green grapes and I ate some of those in the car. They were delicious and hit the spot. We had the lovely Victory Strength Team at our church (I will post pictures, later). They use their muscles to preach the Gospel.. well.. that’s not the best way to describe it but that’s it in a nutshell.

After church we were heading down to Ladd Stadium to do the Convoy of Hope. A huge gathering filled the stadium to collect things like, free lunch, new tennis shoes, free haircuts, free dental/medical work and even free family portraits. Even with the weather (which shows how great the need in our community really is), there were 10,200 people there. We were there to volunteer. I walked around and took pictures. (I will post some of those as well). It was so amazing to see everyone serving and how thankful the people were. I loved it! Anyways, I knew we would not be eating at this Celebration of Hope thing, so me, Bevin, and Matt all ate Subway before. Since I knew we wouldn’t be eating I ate a footlong. I took the bread out of the center so I think the total was about 530 or something with all of the yummy veggies. We had Azteca’s for dinner and I had the grilled chicken salad with little to no cheese and sour creme on the side. I’d say it was about 600 calories? Maybe less 🙂 So that was about 1240 calories give or take a few.

When I finally got home I was exhausted and my feet were wet. But we survived! It was a great time and I am glad I participated. Not to mention, I saw the Little Mermaid, Snow White, Cinderella, and the new Princess from the latest Disney movie. So that made my day! 🙂

I’ll post later about my eatings today. I will say in a momentary lapse of judgement, I drank a diet coke. I’M SORRY! I needed it. I was not having a good day. 😦 It’s ok because I had already drank about 2 liters of water.. so I’ll just pee it out anyway! 🙂

So until later…

Leave a Reply

