You can’t always eat what you want

26 Jan

But if you try sometimes… you just might find.. you eat what you need! That was the case for tonight. We desperately need to go grocery shopping. So until we do, we are scrounging around for anything edible and healthy. Tonight.. it was cabbage, a whole grain turkey and cheese sandwich, a small handful of mix roasted nuts, and 6 slices of an orange. So I’m just going to say all of that was about 600 calories. I know the sandwich I ate was on those little round bread things that are only 100 calories, Turkey is about 45 calories and the low-fat american cheese is like 60. Cabbage is only about 200 calories (I ate a lot) the nuts were probably 80-120 calories.. and I’m not sure about the orange slices. SO that was dinner!

For breakfast, I ate a Kashi granola bar that was about 120 calories and an orange which was about 100 calories (220 cal in all)

I ate a yummy mid-day snack! kind of high in calories, but that’s ok. 14 wheat thins (140 calories) + 1 string cheese (50 calories) so that’s 190 cal. I love wrapping a string of the string cheese around the wheat thin. It’s SO delicious! ๐Ÿ™‚

190 calories

For lunch… ew.. for lunch I had this Chicken Florentine healthy choice meal (220 calories) + 1 tablespoon of ground Flax seed. I have never had flax before and I would not recommend eating it in a healthy choice meal. It turned into what I would call a gritty like paste. IT was weird. Don’t think I’ll do that again. It maybe best used in a smoothie or oatmeal.. I do not think you would notice it as much but I definitely noticed it in my lunch today.

ew

I was telling Matt tonight, as we watched Biggest Loser that I have not gone ROGUE at all on my diet. I am being a good girl! I really can’t believe that I have not cheated.. but I think it is because you guys are holding me accountable. I appreciate your continued encouragement ๐Ÿ™‚ BUT when can I cheat? Aren’t you allowed to every now and then.. to “shock” your metabolism? Gosh, what I wouldn’t give for a hamburger from 5 guys and Fries.. or a Chicken Quesadilla from Los Rancheros. CHOCOLATE please.

I will say that while I wouldn’t mind an indulgence of the above… I’m so afraid that If I cheat just once, that I will fall off of the wagon. Infact, I was starving Sunday at the Celebration of Hope. I got a hot dog.. but then had second thoughts and gave it away. I was too afraid to eat it and at the end of the day, I really was glad that I didn’t eat it. It made me feel strong. I know that is silly… but I never knew I had this kind of self-control! I’m usually the girl who eats and then sulks about my actions afterwards… and most of the time, I just try not to think about them so I won’t have to be upset about my decision. NOt until I’ve gained 10 lbs, do I realize the after effects. Then I cry on the bed forย  about 10 minutes and vow to lose weight.Well, I don’t like that person.

OH, I lost 2 lbs since yesterday. I really think that when I weighed yesterday, I had not yet released all of my “fluids” so my weight loss was not accurate. SO I’ve really lost 4 lbs! Which makes me feel great.. that’s a total of 12 lbs!! Woot woot GOsh, I have a long way to go.

My total calorie intake today was 1230 calories.

Anyways.. Matt and I are going to go watch 500 Days of Summer. Toodles!

2 Responses to “You can’t always eat what you want”

  1. Nina January 26, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

    I love those Arnolds sandwich thins. I only really use flaxseed when I bake or make waffles. I’d imagine it wouldn’t be too good sprinkled over lunch.
    500 days of summer is 1 of the best movies ever!! Trey and I Saw it in the theaters 2 times and bought the DVD. I usually hate ” love” stories but this one is different. Hope you
    enjoyed it just as much

  2. Amy January 27, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    You can have 1 cheat meal a week! But don’t go overboard during that meal! Eat healthy the rest of the day and have a cheat dinner or something! Thats what I did when I started and it helped b/c then you know that is your treat meal for doing good that week. I usually did it on a Friday or Saturday! So go have a hamburger this weekend..you deserve it!

Leave a Reply

