Plan yo meals, fool!

10 Feb

Cause if ya don’t.. The devil will get ya!

Bad Devil!

 

This is from another article on www.livestrong.com that I recommend reading. When it comes down to it.. “dieting” is really common sense. When you get mixed up in the fad diets.. you may lose weight but before you know it, you will find it..sometimes more than you wanted. So in short, it’s not really about dieting.. it’s about living a healthy life. Which means, diet and exercise. Eating healthy foods that God created and not McDonalds (or in my case…FOOSACKLEYS ;).. and in my experience.. you can fake the foo.

SWOON

 

Most people know this.. like I said, it’s common sense.. but is it common practice? No way, hosea! I can say that because it wasn’t for me. My way of eating was all about convenience. Matt and I are always so busy with this and that that we never made time to cook healthy foods. Even when we intended on cooking, by the time we would get home we would not feel like cooking so we’d just eat out. Dewdrop anyone? This is how so many people are but the funny thing is while you are trying to save time by eating out.. when in the end, you are going to use more time counteracting yoru previous actions. So why don’t you SAVE MORE TIME.. but doing it right in the first place. (I am preaching to myself, friends..GLORY!).

It’s really not that hard to cook every night.. or even every other night (if you have left overs). Just  go to the grocery store when you get paid and get an idea in your head of what you want to cook in the upcoming week. It can be simple stuff and now, most recipes on the internet have grocery shopping lists included! If you plan your meals, you will be less prone to go through a drive through somewhere. Make grocery shopping fun.. (Note.. if you really want it to be fun, I would avoid wal-mart if you can afford to).

The below excerpt from the live strong article has a few tips in it of different low-calories foods you can eat that are SIMPLE to make:

A Healthy Diet

Sometimes it seems easier to just grab fast foods or convenient foods for meals and snacks. However, these foods are often loaded with added sugars and fats and contribute to weight gain. By preparing your own healthy meals and snacks you will know what your food is made out of and what you are putting into your body. With a little planning, healthy eating can be just as easy. In addition, healthy foods are just what your body needs to deal with the challenges of a busy lifestyle. Eating healthy will help you to be more focused, more productive and more efficient.

Healthy Eating Tips

There are many quick and healthy meals and snacks that you can eat at home or at the office. Some examples are yogurt or cottage cheese mixed with nuts and dried fruit, a peanut butter and honey sandwich on whole grain bread, fresh fruit with cottage cheese or nuts, raw vegetables with hummus dip, oatmeal with nuts and dried fruit, a turkey or chicken wrap using a whole grain tortilla, a chicken salad, a grilled chicken sandwich on a whole grain bun, brown rice with chicken and vegetables, and a grilled cheese sandwich with low-fat cheese and whole grain bread. In the past it would have been more difficult to make meals with brown rice but now stores offer fully cooked brown rice so all you need to do is heat it up in the microwave.

Minus the fish.. I don't eat fish 😦

The article even goes on to say that these super-foods help you focus and concentrate which is so cool  because I noticed that even my A.D.D. self had been more task oriented. I have been getting a lot more of my work done at work in a more timely manner! (Sometimes, I get side tracked by little doodles here and there).

So far, eating well has helped.. and I want everyone to eat well because it makes you feel so much better. I always hated feeling guilty after eating something really unhealthy.. i.e. Pickel Fish? Why would you want to have the wait of guilt hanging around? I hate the feeling of regret so I’m trying avoid it all together. I have been SAVED! Ok..that’s enough.

Anyways.. Today, I have eaten oatmeal (180 calories) for breakfast

A Fiberone bar for a snack (140 Calories)

My left over sub and an orange for lunch (380 – orange included)

Then, I ran/walked 4 miles at Cottage Hill Park… in shorts… because I’m crazy. 

Tonight we have church and I’m not sure what I’ll eat… Matt forgot to get his lunch out of the car this morning and there is a Lean Cuisine in there so I might eat that..thank goodness! I lovvvveeee To eat!

Note.. I’m a little nervous about Valentine’s Day coming up. I have a panfried steak that I want to make Matt and then I’d like to make Cajun Chicken Pasta (this is cream based YIKES) these are both Pioneer Woman Recipes. How she stays so skinny? I guess it has something to do with having 4 kids and a giant ranch?

Precious Familia!

Cajun Chicken Pasta.. YUMMY but BAD for you 😦

 

TOODLES!

4 Responses to “Plan yo meals, fool!”

  1. Ashley February 10, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

    Foosackleys! Aaaagh! That sounds so good right now! I’m using too many exclamation points!

  2. Rachel February 10, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    Don’t tell PW I said this but I use Fat free PLAIN GREEK yogurt as a sub for anything creamy. Give it a try sometime.

  3. Nina February 10, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    I am so glad to hear you have really caught on to the healthy eating lifestyle. It is hard to start but once you do, you realize how great you feel and never want to stop!

  4. Katherine Heath February 11, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    I made the Cajun chicken pasta last week. It is so yummy! It really doesn’t have all that much cream in it, just 1/2 a cup which is not alot. And you can make it with whole wheat fettucine to make it a little healthier.

Leave a Reply

