The Perils of Pasghetti

17 Feb

 

Sauce + Meatballs

 

Wow. You learn a lot about life when you cook. It’s true. The lesson I learned tonight is.. always read directions all the way through. This pertains to cooking and life. Most people already know this rule.. but apparently, I am exempt from following it. I don’t know what it is but every time I cook, I either jump to conclusions about how, where, and when to use an ingredient.. or don’t read the directions all the way through and don’t have a clue what should be ready next etc.. etc..

Tonight, I wanted to try and make healthy Pioneer Woman spaghettii. I was going to substitute ground lean turkey meat and wheat pasta for PW’s Hamburger Meat, Pork, and regular pasta. Well, the ingredients were pretty simple but they were in two categories. One was set of ingredients was for the meat balls, the other for the sauce. I mistook one of the cooking ingredients (2 cups of Olive Oil) for an ingredient to use for the meat balls. So instead of keeping the oil to the side until I was ready to cook the meat balls, I mixed it in with the meat and other ingredients. 

Onions

 

You all know I am still learning how to cook.. so while using 2 cups of olive oil in meat balls would not make sense to a seasoned (no pun intended) cook, it made perfect sense to me.. you could tell me to go cut some fresh grass outside and add it for flavor and I probably would.. So when I read that as part of the ingredients.. I did not look at the part that explained how to cook it and just assumed it went in with the rest of the meat ball ingredients.

Not quite done Meat Balls

 

When I came tot the realization that this was not so, I threw in the towel (literally) I threw the dish rag and the piece of paper with the recipe down on the ground and flopped down on the couch and pretended to cry so Matt would make it better. He encouraged me a little, but he is sick so he would not fix it for me. I had to figure out how to fix it on my own. (Not really, he told me to follow the rest of the directions and just don’t add anymore oil.. hopefully the oil would cook out) So I did that. And alot of the oil cooked out. 

Finally, I made the sauce and married the sauce to the meatballs and viola! It was pretty good. I was cursing the spaghetti and meatballs before while I was talking to my BFF, Amy. I said, “I’m never going to make spaghetti and meatballs again!” But now, after eating them.. and liking them.. it makes me feel good. I think I might make them again, after all. 🙂 Next time, I’ll know what to do.. and I’ll read the directions again.. ALL THE WAY THROUGH!

I’m not sure how many calories the spaghetti and meatballs had.. but I only allowed myself 2 meat balls and a small amount of sauce and spaghetti. I’m going to go ahead and say about 600 calories, to be safe.

Today, for breakfast I had oatmeal 180 Calories

Snack I had a fiber one bar, 140 Calories

and then for lunch I had a grilled chicken Salad with dressing on the side. I think it was about 400 calories. I didn’t eat it all because I was running my mouth the entire time. It’s amazing what that will do for you at lunch. It will make you full faster because you are eating slower.

I got hungry around for and had some 100 calorie pack almonds.

So the total for all of that is..1420

I have not been very strong. I need to lessen my calories if I want to get off of this plateau that I am on. I think I’m just a little jaded. It’s been about a month and a half. I know I can do this.. I need to get refocused!

I did not go to the park today because I met some people for lunch. Tomorrow is going to be 12:30 Thursday since we did not get to go on Tuesday but I’m not sure if I will get to go.. which may work out because I really need to work out. I feel a little porky.

Meet Andrew:

Oh to be a kid again.

OH and these are pictures from the weekend. My valentine’s night with the gal pal’s!

I'm a nerd.

Gerber + Covo Hearts = Good, Clean FUN!

I even had a fruit and cheese “tray”?

and candles.. 

I made the cajun chicken pasta.. it was really good, too. Matt even said that it was the best thing that I had ever cooked. That made me feel really good! 🙂

This picture does not do it justice.

Well, that’s all for now.

3 Responses to “The Perils of Pasghetti”

  1. Laura February 17, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

    I made spaghetti for us tonight too, it is Matt’s favorite food, and I totally bought those doilies 50% off today. I’m glad your spaghetti was still good.

  2. flannelmondays February 18, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    you should try the PW recipe, then.. it was very tasty! 🙂 Even with Turkey and whole wheat pasta.

    Don’t you love those after holiday sales! 🙂 I am so excited that you are engaged!! he he he

  3. Rebecca C. February 23, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    I love how you decorated for the party! You’re so creative! I still have your chalk paint…I am so sorry I haven’t gotten it back to you! I’m really slow here.

Leave a Reply

