God is Great, God is Good, Let us Thank Him for the PIZZA!

22 Feb

I’m not wearing socks with my tennis shoes. I know.. it’s pretty gross when you think about it. I could not find any socks this morning so I went without them on my run/walk. It would not be quite as gross but are you ready.. this is the gross part.. I bought these tennis shoes from GOODWILL and they have never been washed. PLEASE DON’T JUDGE ME! Too late, right? You are judging me with the likes that God will judge me too! I know, I know! I am going to get FOOT FUNGUS! Oh forgive me for I have sinned!

Clearly I am not a girly girl. I mean.. even non-girly girl’s would think twice about committing such a sin but I am a little careless, so I think that’s why. It must have something to do with my a.d.d, type “b”, artistic, along came polly,  non-committed  personality? And that’s just the way God made me so.. um… yeah. Please don’t stop being my friend because of this matter.

OK. So yes, I finally went back to the park. It was very nice, I mean.. as nice as post-rain weather can be. The birds were chirping and I saw what I consider to be the first sign that spring and that is a Robin!

I don't think this is the kind of Robin that we have around these here parts.. but he was by far the cutest Robin I have ever seen. I love him.

So seeing the Robin’s hopping around lifted my spirits for Spring time is one of my most favorite times during the year. I just wish our Springtime was more.. um… authentic?

The Robins were not the only curious creatures there today. I also ran across a little lady that had her 2 dogs. One happened to be 12 years old and was in no condition to be walking around so she carried him in what I would consider to be one of those things that people put their babies in?

Yes, I asked if I could take a picture. I don't think she knew that I was making fun. It was HILARIOUS. There are human's in the world who don't even get this kind of treatment.

Then.. there were these two gals. Obviously taking a break from work.. but c’mon, they could have at least changed into some tennis shoes!

I smelled cigarette smoke when I walked by them. I think they might have had one. EW. Who does that while they are exercising!?

Oh.. as you know, I did not remember a pony tail holder today so I had to go without one. 😦 This is a picture of me running. It really was not that bad. The air from my super fast stride kept the hair out of my face (I kid, I kid)

As I ran:

(pardon the distortion - my camera phone was moving up and down with me)

Then, when I started walking.. this is what my hair looked like.. SCARY. I felt like Bridgette Jones after she rides with her boss to the country and her cute scar flies off. Her hair is big. Mine wasn’t quite as big but that is how I felt..

I have Farrah F. Hair?

OK. I know I’m a nerd but that’s just who I am. THE END.

Just kidding. I definitely wanted to share this amazing recipe that I used for lunch yesterday. 

Meet the Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwich:

Can I get an "Amen"?

This was delish. I did not use enough cheese though, I could barely taste it and it was sharp cheddar. But I figured, eh, I can stand to cut a few calories from this sandwich and it was still delicious! I am also so proud of myself. I have been eating tomatoes with the best of them! I put to whole slice on my sandwich! They were so delicious, too! I am really growing up, I think. Well.. my taste buds are.. the rest of me is still 16.

So here is the recipe:

Ingredients

  • Cooking spray
  • 1  cup  vertically sliced red onion
  • 1  large garlic clove, minced
  • 1  cup  (4 ounces) shredded reduced-fat sharp white cheddar cheese (such as Cracker Barrel)
  • 8  (1 1/2-ounce) slices hearty white bread (such as Pepperidge Farm)
  • 2  cups  fresh spinach leaves
  • 8  (1/4-inch-thick) slices tomato
  • 6  slices center-cut bacon, cooked

Preparation

1. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-low heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add 1 cup onion and garlic; cook for 10 minutes or until tender and golden brown, stirring occasionally.

2. Sprinkle 2 tablespoons cheese over each of 4 bread slices. Top each slice with 1/2 cup spinach, 2 tomato slices, 2 tablespoons onion mixture, and 1 1/2 bacon slices. Sprinkle each with 2 tablespoons cheese; top with the remaining 4 bread slices.

3. Heat skillet over medium heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Place sandwiches in pan, and cook for 3 minutes on each side or until golden brown and cheese melts.

Nutritional Information

Calories: 376
Fat: 11g (sat 5.3g,mono 4.8g,poly 0.6g)
Protein: 20.2g
Carbohydrate: 50.3g
Fiber: 3.3g
Cholesterol: 24mg
Iron: 2.9mg
Sodium: 876mg
Calcium: 308mg
This sandwich was simple and very tasty. I would recommend it for a quick lunch or even a laid back dinner 🙂 We will be making it again! Matt was bad though, and used 3 slices of bacon so his was not as healthy. BUT he is a growing boy so I suppose that is ok. He needs more man food to survive?
Speaking of survival… I may not survive after tonight. I have reached my 25 lb mark with which Matt promised me he would take me to Bucks Pizza (My favorite pizza place in Mobile) once I met that mark. SO I am going to oblige. Pizza is, after all my most favorite food in the whole entire world.. ok, well maybe not the whole world but it is definitely in my top ten. I just can’t wait. I am going to get the 7 inch pizza, and plan to eat very slowly and I will not over indulge… I hope… I better do more than hope.. I better pray! YIKES! 

The Old World Pizza.. I might get this?

Dear Lord, please help me restrain myself tonight at Bucks Pizza. Thanks.
Ok. Well that is all for now.
I have had the usual food-wise.. Clif Bar, Orange, Lean Cuisine, and kashi Granola Bar. That is a total of 780 calories. The pizza is going be over 1000 Dang it. Good thing I ran/walked today!
BYE BYE!
3 Responses to “God is Great, God is Good, Let us Thank Him for the PIZZA!”

  1. Ashley February 22, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

    That sandwich looks tasty! I love grown up grilled cheeses!

  2. greentmarie February 22, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    Yum! That sandwich looks delicious!

  3. Katherine Heath February 23, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    25lbs! Amanda that is AWESOME! You have done so great!

Leave a Reply

