Cupcakes, NOLA and Mutemath

12 Mar

Thanks to the cupcakes, I am certain that I had way too many calories yesterday. I only allowed myself one cupcake but licked my fingers a lot and ate a bunch of crumbs. If you decide to bake anything in the next century.. Bake THESE. They are the most delicious little round brown things that I have ever had? That was weird. Anyways, they will change your life. Thank you, PW!

By the way, I don’t know how she stays so neat and clean. I made the biggest mess while making these little boogers! See below:

I am so unorganized in my "bakery"

By the way, you can tell I’m a newbie cook. When I poured the butter milk into the measuring cup and it was lumpy, I asked Matt if it was supposed to be like that. I never knew that butter milk was kind of lumpy. GROSS! Matt apparently didn’t know either and after we looked at the expiration date, it had to of been ok. So we just hoped for the best… and that’s just what we got! 

YUM

Yummy Batter. This recipe calls for 2 cups of sugar! That's a lot!

Look, it looks like a giant chocolate chip cookie! (these were in my stone)

 

Introducing the GANACHE. I've never made anything with Corn Syrup before. It was fun.

See how messy I am! My cupcakes kind of fell apart here and there 😦

 

And finally…

These were just so yummy. It made me want to cry!

If you ever decide that you need a “drink” or you need to do some “emotional eating” just whip some of these bad boys up and all will be well with the world. I’m not telling you a LIE. DO IT! MAKE THEM! Sigh.

OK… so if anyone who has never read my site read it today, they would think I am a gluten. But I’m really not, I just made these for my co-worker’s b-day. (his b-day was Wednesday) I’m a little late. But that’s ok. Everything is OK in moderation, right? 

I did well with my eating yesterday and went running so it’s ok to treat good behavior. Positive reinforcement = repetitive good behavior? Sure!

Anyways, enough about chocolate cupcake goodness, let’s talk about Today.

ToDAY I have had A clif bar (260) and 1 cupcake (260?) I’m not going to allow myself any snacks since that was such a major indulgence. So for lunch I am going to have a Lean Cuisine Quesadilla.. those are under 300 calories 🙂 Tonight is BunKo and we always have good food but I will eat light and it will be OK! 

I have exciting news. Next Saturday, Matt and I will be going to NOLA to see MUTEMATH. If you have not heard them, they are fabulous. Hmmm, how should I describe them? 

This reminds me of PEPTO.

 

MUTEMATH is a Grammy Award nominated American rock band fromNew Orleans that formed in 2003. Their music consists of many elements and has been described as everything from electro-alternative-rock to psychedelic-gospel to experimental-pop to give it a futuristic flair to their music. The group consists of Paul Meany on keyboards & vocals; Darren King on drums, samples, and programming; Greg Hill on guitar; and Roy Mitchell-Cárdenas on bass, but they often perform on any mixture or variation of these instruments.”

Totally stole that from wikipedia because I didn’t know how to describe them. They are fun and I have a feeling they will put on a great show. 

I am super excited about them but I am even MORE excited to go to NOLA for the day. Every time I go, it’s always a late night run for beingets…

Note: They only take cash. They do have public restrooms but you will wait for about 10-20 minutes to use it.

 

but this time, I will actually get to enjoy the city a little bit more. WOO HOO. It has such a nitty gritty raw culture and delicious color! I LOVE IT! There will be many a picture taken, TRUST ME.

Hmm, I wonder where this is?

Have a good weekend. I may or may not post again.

TOODLES!

OH, PLEASE SIGN UP FOR THE AZ TRAIL! IT WILL BE FUN!  You can register here. We can all do it together! Seriously, if you are interested in doing it.. register, and let me know via facebook.. or just leave me a comment. It will be  a lot of fun! 🙂

3 Responses to “Cupcakes, NOLA and Mutemath”

  1. visualcriminal March 12, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    That alley should be the one by Jackson Square. if you are facing the front of the square it should be the alley on the left hand side of it. I think its called Pirate’s Alley. Also, if you or your hubby like bloody marys check out Pierre Maspero’s restaurant. Really cool old place. Great food and always had a good experience there too.

  2. flannelmondays March 12, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    Thanks! I will definitely check it out. We don’t like bloddy mary’s but that place sounds cool. I like going to authentic non-touristy places.. so we’ll have to check it out.

  3. Katherine Heath March 15, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    If you want to shop go to Magazine Street. Tons of cute stores. One really awesome store is Buffalo Exchange its a clothing consignment store and they have awesome clothes for cheap. I want a cupcake now.

Leave a Reply

