Running out of Excuses!

10 Aug

Well, It’s that time again. Summer is almost over and I’ve ran out of excuses. BUT I’m pretty sure I’ve gained about 3-5.. (maybe more) excuses to start back. I call them excuses, you call them pounds.

Well, whatever the case may be, it’s time.. It’s time to get back on that band wagon and lose some more weight!

To start, I’m going to the grocery store. I’ll be honest. I have not bought groceries in several weeks. Which means I have not cooked in several weeks. “What do you eat?”, you ask. I eat out. That’s bad..bad for me and my pocket book, so while I am loosing weight, I will (hopefully) be gaining dollars to go to more important things… like bills.. or to a goal dress that I’ve been eyeing from Anthropologie and have yet to buy (from all of my money being spent on eating out!)

I will buy the necessities of eating well. Clif bars, fruits and as many fresh veggies as I can find. I will continue to buy chicken and ground turkey meet. I should make a few menus so I will have a better idea of what to buy.

Jake likes Sandwiches too!

 

For lunches, I like turkey on wheat with a slice of 2% american cheese. I could always eat Lean Cusines, but I think I’ll stick to sandwiches for awhile. Then, I will get some yogurt and fiber one bars! Got to keep the fiber in the diet.

For dinner, Baked Chicken with zucchini, squash, and onions, Taco Soup, and lots of veggies! I may just make a vegetable plate tonight, in fact! What else can I make for dinner that is healthy? I do not own a grill. If I did, I’d grill chicken every night! I just run out of ideas 😦

Another thing is to drink plenty of water. I try to drink at least 64 ounces of water a day but it is definitely better if I drink more than that!

I have been very inspired by my sister-n-law, Jessie who has lost 15 pounds. She has been eating right and has recently started doing From the Couch to a 5-K. I’ve noticed many of her friends are doing it to and I want to try it as well. I ran a few weeks ago and was able to run about a mile and a half without stopping, but I want to do this right, (and i’ll have an excuse to walk) so I am going to follow the plan exactly. I will blog about my progress.

I hope that the few people who do read this will hold me accountable. I noticed that I started eating badly again when I stopped writing. Several people asked me why I stopped. It became a chore, I suppose…or maybe I got burnt out? But if writing about everything helps me stay accountable, then I am going to start writing again!

Wish me luck. I’ll post pictures of everything later.

8 Responses to “Running out of Excuses!”

  1. Randall August 10, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    I’ve also heard dividing you weight in half is how many ozs of water you are supposed to drink a day. My weight loss is about to stop. I’m at peak body fat to start adding some good muscle.

    • flannelmondays August 10, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

      yes, I’ve read that before too. You’ve done a great job losing weight, Randal! Kudos!!!

      • Randall August 12, 2010 at 1:41 am #

        Thanks. Spicy Check mix is a good snack too. Spicy foods boost metabolism.

      • Randall August 12, 2010 at 1:55 am #

        O and keeping a daily photo record is good to Have. 3 weeks into trying to lose weight I looked back on my first week photoos and noticed how much better I looked. That’s motivating! I look back at photos from 9 months ago and am shocked.

  2. katherine heath August 10, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    you can do it Amanda! You have done SO well! Do you have a cast iron skillet? If so, you can cook yummy chicken in it. I make chicken and then throw in some veggies and seasonings, and serve it with brown rice or whole wheat pasta. Also, if you like seafood-shrimp is really good and cooks fast as is fish…..

    • flannelmondays August 10, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

      I do have one.. I need to season it, though. What kind of seasonings do you use on your chicken?

      • katherine heath August 11, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

        salt,pepper, paprika, lemon pepper, onion powder, garlic powder…I just kind of experiment with it. I never remember what I put in it which kinda sucks when its really good! haha

  3. flannelmondays August 11, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    Ok! ha ha ha.. I’m just so bad at cooking without recipes.. but i’ll figure it out 🙂 I need to start using my cast iron skillet!

Leave a Reply

