Dreams are made of…

9 Jan

Onion, Tomato, Cilantro, Lime, Chicken, Taco Seasoning and Black Beans.

Pico De Gallo


These are the things dreams are made of… or what REALLY good Lunches/Dinners are made of.

If you like Mexican flavors then this dish is FO YO!

First, make the Pico De Gallo! That way the flavors can marinate a bit. You can find the recipe here.

Secondly, prepare the chicken. I slice it up in strips and pour a pack of taco seasoning, salt, pepper and lime juice.

THEN You put a little bit of Olive oil in the pan and blacken the chicken. Leave the stove on high and cook the chicken on each side for a couple of minutes. Note: This may make your smoke detector go off, so use the vent 😉

I LOVE black beans so I warm some of those up to go on my burrito or wrap or whatever it’s called.

I bought little green wraps that are supposedly made out of spinach from Winn Dixie. They only have 70 calories and are packed with Fiber! (WE LOVE FIBER) So I put all of the contents in the wrap. I also used low-fat mexican blend cheese. It has 80 calories per quarter cup.. If you grate your own cheese, you may find that it is more favorable. The pre grated cheese has corn starch on it and takes away from the deliciousness BUT works if you are pressed for time or get anxious when using a grater.. I know I do..you know, when the cheese is almost to the end! I always get scared that the grater will cut me!

DELISH

I have leftovers for tonight so I think I am just going to take all of the deliciousness and make a salad out of it instead of putting it on that wrap. The wrap is good but not my favorite for mexican.

I am estimating that one serving would be about 300 calories. (I hope)

I love food. I love mexican.

The other night I grilled with some of my gal pals. I made BBQ Chicken Quesadillas. They were pretty much the bomb.com. You can find THAT recipe here. If you are just tuning in.. you will come to find that I absolutely LOVE the pioneer woman. Her recipes are DELISH and NEVER fail me (except for her grown up mac & cheese). The only problem is that her recipes aren’t always the healthiest so I try to modify them accordingly. That often means using olive oil instead of butter…. and many other things.. 🙂 She is my best friend and one day I will meet her and thank her for teaching me how to cook. (My mom tried but I never wanted to learn, then.)

My first time to ever cut up an entire fresh pineapple!

BBQ Pineapple Quesadillas! YUM

Oh and I guess it would be good to know that I’ve lost a total of 6 pounds. WOOTIE WOOT WOOT. Yes, that’s mostly water weight but weight is weight, right?

YAY for being a loser! Happy Sunday and Happy Monday for tomorrow! (Ewww Monday)

Here are a few more pictures from cooking this past week. If you ever want some really delicious baked veggies, cut them up and toss them in olive oil and kosher salt! DELISH:

in the oven:

After baking or roasting or whatever I did???

This is my tin foil dinner! VERY good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

